3D Character Update

I have finally finished the mesh my model of Strauss. It sure took some time, but I am quite happy with the final result. I think his large head and collar might be making the rest of his body look less fat, but I think making the head smaller would make him look human, which would not be very good, so I think the balance I have got now is pretty okay. I am also wondering if maybe should have added some thickness to the free-hanging part of the tunic, but might just not be necessary.

Front02

Right02

I realized that his weak leg should be at the same side he is holding the cane, so I switched thick leg is now on the opposite side of where the fat is leaning towards. I think it looks better since before, there is a better visual balance from left to right, and he looks even more twisted when everything is not on the same side.

I ended up at 2893 triangles.Front03

Right03

1 thought on “3D Character Update

  1. Looking good William! I really like that you’re thinking of how having a limp would affect his body on the long run, nice to see that 🙂

    Since you have a few polys to spare, what about rounding up the fingers a little bit? One more edge loop on the sides will make a big difference.

    Also, make sure the tunic isn’t clipping through the leg, as visible from the side view. And it needs to be double-sided (turn on ‘Backface cull’ under Object Properties to see how it would look in game.

Leave a comment