Character Modeling

Strauss_EdgeFlow

The time for modeling characters has arrived. I started modeling my gnome in class, unfortunately, I have treatment sessions for my psoriasis during in the afternoon, and have to leave halfway through class, then catch up later with tutorial videos.

Front01 Right01

I did get some problems, since the tutorial seemed to be from an earlier year, and there seem to be some differences from what we learned in class. I heard from classmates that one of the things I missed was how to twist the arm to get the appropriate curves on the edge flow: I did not find any of this in the videos.

Persp01 Persp02

I also encountered some difficulties with the body, since the character I am modeling has quite a bit of excessive body fat, which affected the edgeflow a lot, forcing me to tread away from the the guide and think for myself more, when putting down my lines. However, I guess that is a good thing.

I also realized that I have not defined any of his clothes yet. I am not sure if it is a problem, but I might have wanted to do the puff shoulders.

Finally, I am a little worried about doing the face, it looks very different from a normal face. I have made an edgeflow plan for it, but I am not entire sure it will work out.

Leave a comment